If I Were Able

By David De Jong

If I were able, I would build a house
Hewn logs and local quarry stone
Warm with character to espouse
Full beauty, reflected in you alone

The sun would rise over the ocean
Waves and sand would lick your toes
The sun would set over the mountain
Chasing bucks and frolicking does

If I were able, I would build a rocket
Take to the skies some afternoon
Telescope camera in my pocket
I’d fly up to a full summer moon

I would look down and focus on you
Snap a picture, surely quite-a-few
You would be centered every view
Because my world revolves around you

Leave a Reply

