My Master’s

By David De Jong

I am poetry spoken from my Master’s voice
Each day a syllable, metaphor of choice
My pages He wrote before there were words
Long before David attended the herds

I see his wonders and hide from His face
He covers my soul with His name of Grace
When men repent, all His angels rejoice
I am poetry spoken from my Master’s voice

His image hand drawn from earth’s virgin dust
Adam and Eve in a garden of trust
He holds the balance each letter’s invoice
Each day a syllable, metaphor of choice

Choices I have made I know they are mine
His purpose, His will, in all He’ll refine
I pray with His armor each day He girds
My pages He wrote before there were words

He swept the oceans and dusted the peaks
Poured out the granite and scratched out the creeks
He sharpened the stars and counted the birds
Long before David attended the herds

Leave a Reply

