Hero’s Perspective

By David De Jong

My pain seeps
As sap from the tree,
If only my limbs
Were there to see.

My heart aches
For that hole in the hill,
Much of me
Lies there still.

Darkness never fades
Or gives me rest,
Eyes wide open
Sight fails its test.

Unable to reach this tear
Weeping to fall,
What I have given
Feels too small.

God grant me one wish
If given the chance,
Return me to my brothers
To carry again, freedom’s lance.

Thank You and God’s Blessings, to all our Veterans, Service Men and Women, and their families for your sacrifices for our country’s freedom.

Leave a Reply

