Take Hold My Love

HoldingHands

Take Hold My Love

By David De Jong

Take hold my hand as we count the stars
We’ll tally and name them one by one
Stars we can reach we’ll seal in our jars
Giving us light when we’ve lost the sun

Take hold my hand as we walk the shore
Watch our path cleansed while walking the beach
Looking for treasures finding much more
Reading the surf and what it will teach

Take hold my hand as we watch the fire
Kindling hearts bursting full to flame
Coals in ashes refusing to tire
Hearts in the wild will never be tame

Take hold my hand just this one last time
To hold you close erases our age
To breath you in is life most sublime
You hold my heart on every page

We walk, we watch, we hold love as one
On shifting sands of life’s setting sun

Leave a Reply

