Baptism Sunday

Sunset 1

Thought this piece would be appropriate since this coming Sunday will be another ‘Baptism Sunday”. This poem was inspired by a Sunday baptism service and a challenge to write a poem using the following rules. . .

Write a Glosa. This involves an epigram of 4 consecutive lines from a favorite poet that the challenge participant believes they can write successfully to. Then, write a poem consisting of four 10-line stanzas where the final line of each stanza is a line from the epigram, in order. Within each stanza, lines 6, 9 and 10 must rhyme.

Instead of another poem I chose; Isaiah 46:4 – A favorite verse.

Isaiah 46:4

Even to your old age and grey hairs
I am He, I am He who will sustain you
I have made you and I will carry you
I will sustain you and I will rescue you

Baptism Sunday
By David De Jong

There’s a stirring power in the wind
Calling, calling all that have sinned
Reverberating the channels of memories
Gathering faults and mercy pleas
Denied too long may force eternal regret
Forever lament not climbing those stairs
It’s never too early, definitely never too late
Just a simple prayer, and a trust of fate
Forget your past, forget their stares
Even to your old age and grey hairs

What you have done makes none the matter
The decision chooses direction of the ladder
Screams of forgotten, burning yet not consuming
Or shouts of joy, forgiveness, full life atoning
Those were the choices placed before souls in view
They gladly partook, got up from their pew
Considered what of their life to be at loss
If they surrendered it all, up to the cross
For us attending a blessing, so ultimate true
I am He, I am He who will sustain you

Each spoke their life, and shared their grief
How the world stole their trust, a devious thief
Choices made and the consequence carried
Burdens so heavy, some wished to be buried
Then discovering a love always and only true
Brief consideration left one saving thing to do
Regardless of what or who caused their fall
One by one accepted His promising call
With My hands and My feet pierced through
I have made you and I will carry you

As the congregation wept in tears of joy
Boxes of tissues and handkerchiefs deploy
As we wept we smiled; our lips our hearts
Heaven was in reach, this was the start
Not a place to spare left in a pew
Friends and family watched all they knew
Pastor soaked in the baptismal fount
Souls the devil no longer could count
They hearken words of God I know be true
I will sustain you and I will rescue you

Leave a Reply

