Country Love

This Thursday Feb. 11, 2010 photo made available by the Andersland family and taken by Minnesota Aviation, shows an aerial view of a a half-mile wide heart made out of manure 12 miles southwest of Albert Lea, Minn.. Bruce Andersland created the Valentine's Day gift for his wife of 37 years in their farm field. His wife, Beth, says it's the biggest and most original Valentine she has ever received. She says some people might think it's gross but she says it's cute and "Why not do something fun with what you got?" (AP Photo/Courtesy of Andersland family - Minnesota Aviation, Darren Schone)

This Thursday Feb. 11, 2010 photo made available by the Andersland family and taken by Minnesota Aviation, shows an aerial view of a a half-mile wide heart made out of manure 12 miles southwest of Albert Lea, Minn.. Bruce Andersland created the Valentine’s Day gift for his wife of 37 years in their farm field. His wife, Beth, says it’s the biggest and most original Valentine she has ever received. She says some people might think it’s gross but she says it’s cute and “Why not do something fun with what you got?” (AP Photo/Courtesy of Andersland family – Minnesota Aviation, Darren Schone)

Country Love

By David De Jong

I love you bigger, than the back side of my horse.
I can’t wait to see you, so I hurry with the chores.
My love for you is so strong, let me show you how,
Stronger than my tractor, pulling that big old plow.

Holdin’ your hand comes normal, puts me at ease.
While you’re standin there; could you hand me that grease?
You’re just like the spare tire on my old truck,
You help me get goin’ whenever I get stuck.

Won’t never forget the first time you caught my eye,
There at the county fair, when it plopped in your pie.
You licked it; and slicked it; wiped it all clean,
You is the prettiest my eye ever seen.

No one can fix an old rooster the way you do,
How you kill an’ butcher em, fixin’ that fine stew.
They don’t know what hit em when you whack em dead,
Their legs runnin’, chassin’ crazy, lookin’ for their head.

I know how they feel, tryin’ to recollect their hinds,
Love for you drives me loco, the only thing on my mind.
I’ll be thinking on you, while I watch the cows graze,
Like green grass, I’ll be lovin’ you, rest of my days.

Leave a Reply

