Skunked

Skunked

By David De Jong

I dreamt, we had a skunk, in the house last night;
He came back to life, lookin’ for a fight.
The last time I saw him, he was on the road,
His head hit by the tire, flat as a toad.
Wasn’t aimin’ to end his furry life,
He committed suicide, launched this strife.
I felt a bump and shouted; “Oh No! Oh Dear!”
He got mystical with his fountain, in the rear.
The stink was so awful, it scared my poor nose,
But it all missed me, my truck, and my clothes.
How he came back to life, I’ll never get right;
I dreamt, we had a skunk, in the house last night

The critters were unitin’, that’s for sure,
They were scamperin’ about, raisin’ fur.
They’d chase one another, up a tall tree,
Stop short, turn and fix their eyes, all on me.
The dogs just laughed, at my predicament,
They raised their legs, in solemn sentiment.
So much for believin’ in “man’s best friend”,
They were all in cahoots, to see my end!
After all the lovin’, feedin’, and care;
They all turned against me; how did they dare?
I’m still quite quizled, by the crazy sight;
I dreamt, we had a skunk, in the house last night.

The cats pried opened the door on the porch,
I scrambled around, lookin’ for a torch.
He hid so well, in the dark of dark night,
I searched and searched, in a tad bit of fright.
I don’t know, if he was real or a ghost,
I thought for sure, he was dead as burnt toast.
Never did find him, don’t know where he hid,
My wits are slidin’ down a pyramid.
Now as I rest and close my eyes to sleep,
I’m wonderin’ if I’ll see the little creep.
His tail all poofey; his stripe of pure white,
I dreamt, we had a skunk, in the house last night.

Leave a Reply

