Charted

Rain Storm

Charted

By David De Jong

I stumble to write, I struggle to sing
Searching for that single, meaningful thing

The purpose of pain, a reason for joy
What becomes a man to weep like a boy

Heart’s empty hollows, guilt’s feverish pleas
Casting storm’s shadows o’er uncharted seas

Full sails be set, the rudder fast and true
The hand that holds it, has all in His view

The waves may o’er take me and pull me down
But I rest assured a jewel in His crown

He knows the horizon and past its plane
Shelters my course, refreshed with sweet rain

I’ve seen His footprint on trails I have passed
Scars cast in mire while carried in His clasp

I stumble to write concerning these things
His guiding hands of Grace, that make me sing

Leave a Reply

