Song of Sweetness

Thorn Branch

This poem is a favorite that I ran across many years ago. When I did a little research I could not find who the definitive author is. I did see it posted on many other blogs with a note “Author Unknown”. Last evening I did find a reference to a Carrie E. Breck, a hymn writer from late 1800’s – early 1900’s.

Title Unknown

Author Unknown (Carrie E. Breck?)
From: Streams in the Desert; December 10, p. 459

Once I heard a song of sweetness,
As it filled the morning air,
Sounding in its blest completeness,
Like a tender pleading prayer;
And I sought to find the singer,
Where the wondrous song was borne;
And I found a bird, quite wounded,
Pinned down by a cruel thorn.

I have seen a soul in sadness,
While its wings with pain were furled,
Giving hope, and cheer and gladness
That should bless a weeping world
And I knew that life of sweetness,
Was of pain and sorrow borne,
And a stricken soul was singing,
With its heart against a thorn.

You are told of One who loved you,
Of a savior crucified,
You are told of nails that held Him,
And a spear that pierced His side;
You are told of cruel scourging,
Of a savior bearing scorn,
And He died for your salvation,
With His brow against a thorn.

You “are not above the Master.”
Will you breathe a sweet refrain?
And His grace will be sufficient,
When your heart is pierced with pain
Will you live to bless His loved ones,
Though your life be bruised and torn,
Like the bird that sang so sweetly,
With its heart against a thorn?

Leave a comment