I Can Never Love You

Hands

I Can Never Love You

By David De Jong

Like a mother loves her newborn child
Like an eagle soars to love the wild
Like a sandy beach soothing your woes
Like the color red calling the rose
Like a leaf clinging to summer’s dew
I can never love you
Less than that

Like a breath of sultry sea breeze air
Like sweet slices of succulent pear
Like sunshine melting a winter’s day
Like cooling mist from an ocean’s spray
Like every sunset coerces a view
I can never love you
Less than that

Like a Sunday morning coffee’s cream
Like the lingering lilac spring day’s dream
Like a kitten’s purr against your cheek
Like the river’s calling to the creek
Like sky beckoning to purest blue
I can never love you
Less than that

Like warming glows from a midnight fire
Like carols sung by an angelic choir
Like life itself each beat of my heart
Like painted mem’ries, pieces of art
Like all these things, I know it be true
I can never love you
Less than that

Leave a Reply

