Seeing Salvation

Cross_Snow_2015_2

28 Simeon took him in his arms and praised God, saying: 29 “Sovereign Lord, as you have promised, you may now dismiss your servant in peace. 30 For my eyes have seen your salvation,
31 which you have prepared in the sight of all nations: 32 a light for revelation to the Gentiles, and the glory of your people Israel.”
Luke 2:28–32 NIV

Seeing Salvation
By David De Jong

I have seen His salvation; as He has shown it unto me,
In a myriad of wonder and grand simplicity.
From: improbable things I’ve witnessed, counting my age,
To: His unfailing Word written, on the papyrus page.

I have seen His salvation; while strolling on a beach,
Scanning distant horizons, appearing within my reach.
Drifting footprints, left in the sand, erased there at my side,
While sensing His infinite power, roaring in the tide!

I have seen His salvation; in a newborn’s wrinkled face,
Instant love, overwhelming my heart, for all its space,
Full of life, yet so dependent, on its mother’s tender care,
Unimagined joy rendered; in a simple, aw-struck stare.

I have seen His salvation; in a worn-out, ragged pew,
Where all the old and young listened and clambered for a view;
Of souls redeemed in mercy, and awakened from despair,
While sounds of thankful teardrops, anthemed throughout the air.

I have seen His salvation; in a marriage saved from hate,
By a message sent in hope, with prayers it wasn’t too late.
Broken hearts; renewing, healing and mending each day,
Walking hand in hand; loving, instead of walking away.

I have seen His salvation; in a wheelchair clad child,
Filled with joy and laughter, striving to play, just as wild.
Racing his chair, as the others flee on abled feet,
Chasing, embracing the moment, savoring the treat.

I have seen His salvation; in a disease ravaged soul,
Months of turmoil and treatments, to restore a body whole.
Family and friends with earnest pleas in prayer; kneeling,
Believing, encouraging undaunted faith and healing.

I have seen His salvation; in loved ones’ dying breath,
Witnessing their journey to heaven, fainting earthly death;
Peaceful in assurance of His promises foretold,
Enthroned in His comfort and His covenant of old.

I have seen His salvation; in a dusty pile of hay.
Bedding for a Savior while the shepherds kneeled to pray.
All heaven rejoicing, for the promised Prince of Peace!
The Passover Lamb of God, with pure, unblemished fleece.

I have seen His salvation; on an old wooden cross.
Pondering; the sacrifice and immeasurable loss,
The cross; now stands empty and the tomb; open and free,
Laying the pathway clear, to His Grace in eternity.

I have seen His salvation; as He has shown it unto me,
In a myriad of wonder and grand simplicity.
From: improbable things I’ve witnessed, counting my age:
To: His unfailing Word written, on the papyrus page.

Leave a Reply

