If I Was Joseph

 Merry Christmas!

If I Was Joseph

By David De Jong

If I was Joseph;
Soon to be married,
Would I have faith enough,
To truly believe?
Would I take the scorn?
Let this child be born?
Would I love my bride,
Unconditionally?

If I was Joseph,
Or even Mary;
Would I have faith enough,
To really believe?
Would I trust the dreams,
Crazy as they seemed?
Was this God’s own son?
Was Mary the chosen one?

If I was Joseph;
Caring for Mary,
Would I have faith enough,
To answer and believe?
Pack our bags, leave our home,
Walk, a-hundred miles,
Even though the birth,
Could come at any time.

If I was Joseph;
Walking with Mary.
Would I have faith enough,
To actually believe?
This was all God’s plan,
We were in His hands.
He would bring us rest,
He would make us Blessed.

If I was Joseph;
Watching o’er Mary,
Could I have faith enough,
To see, and still believe?
A child of our God;
Would be born this way,
With no room inside,
A prince, born on hay.

If I was Joseph,
Or even Mary;
Could I have faith enough,
To truly, wholly, believe?
That all heaven and earth,
Would never be the same,
After this baby’s birth,
The world would know His name.

I can’t be Joseph,
Nor can I be Mary,
But humbly I pray;
To have faith enough,
Without doubt, believe:
That the faith I have,
Be enough to see,
As frail as I am;
God, believes in me.

Leave a Reply

